Reckless driving in the state of Oklahoma is considered a misdemeanor. The penalties for this type of violation can include: 4 points assessed to your driver’s license, potential incarceration of no less than 5 days but not to exceed 90 days, a monetary fine, and possible license suspension.
- Excessive speeding
- Passing in a no passing zone
- Failure to indicate lane changes
- Passing traffic by way of highway shoulders
- Failure to stop at red lights
If you are in need of an opinion from a Tulsa Reckless Driving Attorney, call our office for a free consultation. We handle reckless driving, along with many other traffic tickets or vehicle related criminal offenses. It is important to note that you should try to avoid driving recklessly at all costs. Not only is it a crime and dangerous to yourself, it can be dangerous to others. If you cause an accident where the other person(s) die in the accident, and you are charged with Reckless Driving, it can serve as the basis for a first degree manslaughter charge, or negligent homicide.
“Over the 50-year history of the Negligent Homicide statute, this Court has grappled with its proper application many times. The statute is aimed at a limited class of homicides: those committed by a motor-vehicle driver acting in “reckless disregard of the safety of others.” State v. Haworth 2012 OK CR 12 283 P.3d 311
Tulsa Reckless Driving Attorney
Reckless Driving in Oklahoma:
A. It shall be deemed reckless driving for any person to drive a motor vehicle in a careless or wanton manner without regard for the safety of persons or property or in violation of the conditions outlined in Section 11-801 of this title.
B. Every person convicted of reckless driving shall be punished upon a first conviction by imprisonment for a period of not less than five (5) days nor more than ninety (90) days, or by a fine of not less than One Hundred Dollars ($100.00) nor more than Five Hundred Dollars ($500.00), or by both such fine and imprisonment; on a second or subsequent conviction, punishment shall be imprisonment for not less than ten (10) days nor more than six (6) months, or by a fine of not less than One Hundred Fifty Dollars ($150.00) nor more than One Thousand Dollars ($1,000.00), or by both such fine and imprisonment.